Sunday, August 30, 2009

Last day


Ahhh! Do whatever you can do. The evil spirit of school is calling for us. And the flawless spirit of summer vacation says today will be it’s last day and it won’t come back until mid-June. The longest summer ever. From graduation to The Z Zone, Sportszone, Calleva adventure camp, Hawaii, birthday parties, Usain Bolt and yesterday’s birthday party for my uncle and dad (We had various cupcakes, tex-mex, onion rings, ribs, pork and ice cream cake. Better than my birthday party. Then again there was no theme.) Unfortunately this will be the end of our 75-day break. I totally thought we were going to the Outer Banks this summer, because before this summer every single summer of my life we went away to the Outer Banks for about 8 days. We did go away for Memorial Day weekend, though. And I guess next weekend (Labor day weekend) is sort of the end of summer. I don’t have a problem with Robert Frost middle school or anything. But summer is nirvana. Poor Andy Roddick. His birthday is today. And my dad and uncle’s birth certificates say that their birthday is today. But my grandma says that they were born August 31. So that’s why they end up having a birthday WEEKEND. But I try not to complain about that. And now I have 31 entries. Only 9 more hours to make today last.

So, the NFL regular season is coming up. Last night’s game was pretty epic. With San Diego playing at Atlanta, Matt Ryan completed 14/20 passes for 140 yards and 1 passing touchdown. And Philip Rivers and Billy Volek had a respectable night. To cut to the chase, Chris Redman and Charlie Whitehurst took over for QB, and Chris Redman passed for a touchdown with 9 seconds left. Drama.

C ya

Saturday, August 29, 2009

DC chillin




Good morning. Last night’s game was devastating. I mean on the Skins side, Campbell’s soup was served hot, as Jason Campbell completed 13/22 for 209 yards, and a 4-yard rushing touchdown. And two new faces, Anthony Aldridge and Marcus Mason combined for 17 carries, 79 yards and 1 touchdown, and Colt Brennan connected to Marko Mitchell on a 33-yard pass. And Chris Cooley grabbed a 73-yard reception to set up a Marcus Mason rush TD. Overall, beside the fact that the Redskins had 15 penalties against them for 113 New England yards, they were impressive. Did I mention that the massive 350-lb Albert Haynesworth caused Tom Brady to leave with a sore shoulder? And Daunte Culpepper is coming back to start for Detroit in they’re game against Houston. Major diss over Matthew Stafford. Well anyway guess what happened? The Mama Wok people totally switched up our order. We got tofu! I told my dad to get Hard Times. But it doesn’t matter because I just had the Singapore noodles, beef and dumplings. They’re dumplings are awesome. And because today we’re having a big barbecue for my dad and uncle’s 48th birthday weekend. Sorry to remind you about your age dad. But today is an even more famous person’s birthday. Read on if wanted.

Happy Birthday 51st Michael Jackson! This summer’s tabloids were practically all about him. Thriller, Man in the mirror, Bad, Smooth Criminal, ABC, Dangerous, Dirty Diana, Black or white, Billie Jean, Beat it, P.Y.T, Don’t stop till you get enough and you’re other songs are still rocking. Sorry Farrah, but more people care about the King of pop then the Queen of Charlie’s Angels. Happy B-day, MJ. Spongebob, Alvin and the Chipmunks and the Chipettes are making remixes of you’re songs.

Tim Linecum is aiming for a triple crown this season as he and the Giants trimmed the Rockies wild-card lead down to 2 games. I’m rooting for San Fran by a hair. Best of luck to Colorado too.

C ya

Friday, August 28, 2009

So Vick of him


Yo. Sorry I didn’t blog yesterday. I had middle school orientation and there was zero news. Speak of the devil; I just went to the Newseum. It’s pretty cool. Did you know you have to wake up at 6:30 am for middle school? For all the retirees out there reading this, you’re schedule must be so awesome. Wake up. Play golf. Relax in a pool. Eat gourmet food for all meals. Repeat. Then again the middle school cafeteria food at elementary school (They basically used oil for every course.) But change of subject, Michael Vick just performed an auspicious debut for Philadelphia in a 33-32 win over Jacksonville, in his first game since December 31, 2006. He completed four passes for nineteen yards, even though some irritated protesters jeered him. And David Akers nailed a last minute field goal. Some people just don’t respect good values anymore. What happened to second chances? Michael Vick has diligence, but he hasn’t done anything for atonement, and considering the percentage of people who hate him it seems that even if he does something he'll still be canine Hitler. Looks like I’m the odd man out. Michael is super fast, but he can’t run away from this one. Premiering next on the Vick channel, Philly is headed north to the Big Apple, who just named rookie Mark Sanchez starting 1 day ago. And after that we’ll just have to roll the dice if Roger Goodell lets him to play in the regular season. Well in DC, the Redskins are preparing for they’re game against New England. The key is who is Tom Terrific focused on: Giselle or the game. If it’s Giselle then Washington MIGHT win, if it’s the game then they’re probably going to get creamed by New England. But on the bright side my dad ordered Chinese food from Mama Wok.

Selena Gomez’s new Disney Channel original movie, the Wizards of Waverly Place Movie premiers tonight at 8/7 central. As if she wasn’t tired of Disney channel movies. A few months ago she performed her first one with Drew Seely in Another Cinderella Story, then she did The Princess Protection Program with BFF and fellow actor who’s the main character of a Disney Channel sitcom (Sonny with a chance) and singer who’s equally famous, Demi Lovato. Did you know they became friends and famous on Barney? Life is unfair. Anyway, Selena is doing a lot of work. Watch it.

So. Nice summer. Two more days until I become officially a student of Robert Frost middle school. I’m in the middle of two schools. I’ve graduated from Lakewood, but I haven’t learned any academics in Frost. This summer is so long. Tough for my dad and uncle. They’re birthdays are on the last day of summer.

Peace (Even though the anniversary of Woodstock has passed)

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Ted, White and Blue


Ted is dead. Yes, that’s right. In “Here’s Brett, Don’t Fret” I stated that after Robert Novak died, I picked Ted Kennedy for the next death. Don Hewitt passed, but now the last of Kennedy boys is gone. The Kennedy brothers could’ve easily been a dynasty if Rob wasn’t killed in 1968, he could’ve beat Richard Nixon for the election. And obviously Ted would’ve been a more reasonable choice for Prez instead of Jimmy Carter. And both of those eras would be similar to the Camelot era, with JFK. At least the anxiety and tension about when he will die part is over. Believe me, I thought he was dead in that lunch in late January after Obama’s swearing in. Not even close. Kennedy was an extremely courageous patriot. He was disciplined, determined and intelligent. He was also a dog person. Which is why I am typing with my golden doodle Rafa. Where’d he go? Oh there he is. Ok, he betrayed me for a rubber bone, but let’s not think about that. Poor Ted. He was the last of the Kennedy dynasty. And here's what Obama has to say about Teddy. His patriotism is underrated. That’s too bad. But as all people, he lost his battle with the devil, cancer (We have got to find a vaccine for that epidemic). G.B.T.K

Celebrate good times! I totally forgot about the 100th anniversary of the root beer float. It’s been a week. Sorry A&W and MUG. I worship you guys. You’re my second favorite soda, barely trailing Dr. Pepper. I love floats more than black cows, sundaes or even banana splits or crème brulee. And I like the bananas foster milkshakes from Cheeburger Cheeburger a lot too. And I forgot what Baked Alaskas taste like. Either way, the entrepreneur who thought of a root beer float is genius. Hail root beer floats.

Hey, it’s been 500 years since Galileo Galilei’s ingenious notion of a telescope. Nice thinking, Galileo. We got a man on the moon because of that building block. Even though the 500th anniversary was yesterday. I was going to write about the root beer float and Galileo last night. Apparently curfew beats blogging in my parent’s perspective.

You know what I just heard happened. My sister’s friend and neighbor, was at Cunningham Falls the exact same day we were there, and she was attacked by a swarm of bees too. Spooky stuff, eh? A Hollywood director might as well take this coincidence, elongate the story and make up parts to it, and turn it in to a Rated R horror film. For more drama in this paragraph, click this hyperlink, and it will take you to Beethoven’s 5th symphony. Beeware of the swarm!

The Rockies keep on coming. In 10 innings Colorado beat LA. The Rockies are now 2 games below LA.

Now I'm having another poll: What website are you rooting for in the search engine war: Google, Bing or Ask. Even though it's mostly between Google and Bing I wanted to see if anybody would say Ask. Don't be shy. Speak your mind. I'm for Google.

C ya

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Colorado Rocking


In the present moment the MLB is being plagued by steroids, the economy and Bud Selig’s tactics are right now plaguing MLB. Though last night was just a great and original game of America’s pastime. It was more then that. You know what’s more rare and amazing than a walk-off or a grand slam: a walk-off grand slam. But Colorado Rockies left-fielder Ryan Spilborghs decided to do a rare thing last night. With the San Francisco Giants leading 3-1 in the 14th inning right after the Giants drove in two runs, Spilborghs, a Santa Barbara native, hit a grand salami to end the game. And also on Sunday in a Mets-Phillies match at Wrigley Field, Phillies second baseman Eric Bruntlett snagged a line drive, and tagged two base runners, and completed only the second unassisted triple play in major league history, first since 1926. Before the game Colorado was slightly leading San Fran in the NL wild card race by 3 games. The win pushed the Rockies’ lead to 4 games, with San Fran just above Atlanta, and the Colorado are now 3 games below first place, which is currently held by the Dodgers, who are slumping since the all-star break. The Rockies was practically hopeless of playoff hopes in June fifteen and half games below first place. But Colorado is making a repeat of 2007, and they’re next series is versus LA. In fact it’s the bottom of the second now. LA is up 1-0.

Wow. When Jerry Jones decided to make a brand new $650 million dome for Dallas, did he ever consider the jumbotrons were too low? I mean really, if you have a good punt, it shouldn’t go back down so fast as if it were a boomerang. Let’s grab ahold of reality and take it for a ride, shall we? I know Obama said it’s time for a change but he didn’t mean it that way. Jerry is confused. He should just retire and continue to live in his mansion. Aren’t jumbotrons supposed to be way up high so they don’t interfere with the game? Jerry Jones is screwed. He’s got me talking about jumbotrons. I used to talk about MY LIFE. Not some random old dude from Texas’ problems. Jerry Jones isn’t that bad he should revise his plans before he exposes them to the world.

Chris Brown just got sentenced to 5 years in probation and 1,400 hours in “labor-oriented service”. Whatever that’s supposed to mean. Brown, 20 has to stay at least 50 yards from Rihanna, 10 yards if at the same event. I personally think Brown should only have to do community service. Rihanna’s hit Rehab featuring Justin Timberlake pretty much pomed Chris enough. When he goes back to making records, he’ll be the next Michael Vick. OMG! That joke was so perfect, right? It was just so perfect! LOL! I’ve got to start writing these down. That was gold. It was more than that. It was platinum. I’ve got the potential of Jonathan Waters and Rick Reilly. Oh my god. That was too good. Okay, see ya.

W.A.R.S.L
Update:10:34 PM: The Rockies are tied up with LA 2-2, Top 7th.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Beeware of the swarm


Buenos Dias peoples! Sorry for not writing yesterday. I had a blog going about Chase Daniel and how he helped the Redskins beat the Steelers 17-13. Then my mom called me for breakfast. My family discussed where we wanted to go: Six Flags or this place called Cunningham Falls in Thurmont, MD. Originally my sister, mom and I wanted to go to Six Flags, and my dad said he would go if that were the vote. But then my mom gave into my dad, and we then hit the road to Cunningham Falls. After that it pretty much went downhill. I mean the falls were really cool in all and super refreshing, but when my mom and I were walking back to the car disaster struck. A swarm of yellow jackets was buzzing around in side a hollowed out log, minding they’re own beeswax, when suddenly they ambushed me, stinging extremely close to my ear, on my scalp, calve and at the same exact time I tripped while running away from the bees on the pebbled toe path, receiving a big gory wound on my knee cap. After I finally got in the car I spent 5 minutes crying like a baby with more pain in my whole entire life so far. But that’s not the end. After that I decided to face my fears and go to a snack bar in a beach in Cunningham Falls. It was smooth sailing before a wasp stung my arm. After that when I was relaxing in the sand I just got a nosebleed. And I think I have developed a phobia of wasps, sweat bees, yellow jackets and hornets (last year on my mom's 43rd birthday I was white-water rafting in the Shenandoah river in Virginia and I got stung by a sweat bee in the armpit, and a couple of years ago this girl in my camp got stung by a hornet and it was really close to me.) Can you believe that happened to such an innocent boy like me? Horrible. Mortifying. Worst karma ever. Even worse than this one day in Hawaii where I got stuck in a seatbelt and got a small abrasion, then cut my dominant hand’s palm on a rock, then accidentally locked my sister’s Converse All-Stars in a safe at a Sheraton, and then puked. The good part about that day is my dad got the All-Stars out (Lord knows how). Did I mention I accidentally did a really painful belly flop of my local pool’s diving board? Or when I was playing catch with an aquatic football and I overthrew it and it ended up hitting a grumpy old lady's umbrella? Why can’t I just have a regular Sunday where I go to church or temple and then spend the rest of the day peacefully reading inside? That would be a good fix. But then again I like some razzle-dazzle in my Sunday. Oh well.

No! The Red Sox had a chance to be a wild card and they blew it against the Yankees. Boston has a 9-6 record this year other New York, and in they’re last 6 meetings New York won. So last night in a pitcher’s marquee matchup (C.C Sabathia versus Josh Beckett) Beckett gave up a homer on his first pitch and the Yanks kept on hitting balls over the Green Monster at Fenway Park, thrashing the Sox’s last chance at salvation.

B.O.B (Beware of Bees)

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Bolt!



Usain is insane. In the Beijing Olympics, Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt broke the 100m and 200m records last year. A few days ago Bolt broke his own 200m and 100m record. Two years ago when Jamaican sprinter Asafa Powell held the 100m record most people thought nobody could beat that. Usain Bolt is a human engine. When you see the car on top of Bolt! It’s the SSC Ultimate Aero, the world’s fastest street legal car (I want to see that car race against him. I bet that car could beat him only if before it stopped for a break at Shell before the race.) Not even Michael Johnson or Carl Lewis is close to that type of material. And he’s 6’5. We’re talking millionaire in the next month possibly. I used to think he was a show-off but now I think he deserves to be a show-off. He deserves to be governor of Jamaica. Bolt is has more velocity than possibly no one to ever live in the universe. Unless his speed is genetic. But for now he’s the fastest. So respect him.

Ouch. It appears that Brett Favre had only one completion in his debut in the Metrodome in Minneapolis against Kansas City. And in the completion it was 3rd down and Favre made an underhand toss and rookie Percy Harvin had to dive for it so they didn’t get a 1st down. But he only had 3 practices. And they still won. So cut him some slack.

Michael Vick is likely to make his debut Thursday night in Philadelphia against Jacksonville. And tonight the tenacious Baltimore Ravens are seeking revenge against their arch-nemesis, the Pittsburgh Steelers after an epic AFC championship game even though they're playing Washington.

Yay! Yippee! It’s the 25th blog of The Z Zone. Whew! It’s been a long 63 days from that sunny early summer day to this stormy late summer day. I remember when I made The Z Column. In fact, I even remember the first day of this summer when my dad told me I should write a blog. I also remember when my grandma gave me a book about blogs and ezines right after I showed her The Mosquito Massacre. I remember taking like an hour to write Zac Attack. I remember my first comment. Yup. I remember all of that. This is my first anniversary of The Z Zone's debut, and plenty to come. Isn't it cool how I keep on saying debut. It's cool, it's French, it's catchy. Debut. This summer has felt like a lifetime. Too bad it has to pass soon. Oh well. Can somebody please comment on they’re favorite car. It’s been three blogs and still no comments. Take your time though. Thank you.

H.T.T.Z.Z.P (Hail To The Z Zone Please)

Zac football

Zac football
Zac scoring a TD for Black Ferrarris